HOMICIDE ATTORNEY IN PHOENIX, AZ
DON’T HESITATE TO REACH OUT TO US!
Our Law Firm is committed to becoming the best Law Firm for Latino, migrant, and Spanish speaking communities in Arizona.
Phoenix Murder and Homicide AttorneyHomicides are serious offenses with severe consequences. If you have been charged with a homicide offense in Phoenix, whether it is vehicular homicide or another type of murder case, you should contact an experienced Phoenix homicide attorney as soon as possible. Contact Ybarra Maldonado & Alagha Law Group today. After being charged with a violent crime, we have the expertise, abilities, and experience to successfully pursue the best possible outcome for you. Call our Phoenix criminal defense office today at 602-910-4040 or fill out our online intake form.
What Are the Different Types of Homicide?Regardless of the outcome of the charges, homicide involves the taking of a human life. Each state in the U.S. has different types of classifications, but many share similarities. The four most common categories are as follows.
- Negligent homicide: Negligent homicide is a kind of involuntary manslaughter under Arizona law, which is a lower offense than manslaughter or murder. If you inadvertently cause the death of another person due to criminal carelessness, you may be prosecuted with negligent homicide.
- Manslaughter: According to Arizona law, manslaughter involves one of the following: recklessly causing the death of another person, intentionally killing someone in the heat of the moment or during a quarrel, or aiding another in committing suicide.
- Second degree murder: Someone causes the death of another person with the intention of doing so, but without premeditation. A person acts in a way that exhibits a complete disregard for human life, or recklessly participates in behaviors that pose a considerable danger of death, resulting in the death of another person.
- First degree murder: Someone has the intent to kill or is aware that their actions will result in death. They cause the death of another person or persons as a result of their activities. They planned the killing ahead of time.
What Are the Penalties for Homicide in Arizona?First- and second-degree murder, manslaughter, and negligent homicide are all classified as homicide. A murder accusation indicates that the defendant murdered someone with the purpose or premeditation to do so, whereas manslaughter indicates that the defendant did not have such intent. Premeditation includes not only the desire to murder another person, but also the knowledge that the defendant will do so. Depending on which charge you face, the potential penalties vary greatly.
Negligent HomicideCriminal negligence is defined as failing to behave with reasonable caution or to recognize evident hazards associated with your conduct. Negligent homicide is a Class 4 felony that carries a minimum of one year in prison and a maximum of 3.75 years in jail for a first conviction. Second crimes can result in a jail sentence of up to 7.5 years. You will lose your weapon license and have a criminal record in any case.
ManslaughterThis crime is a class 2 felony. It is always considered a dangerous felony. The following are the ranges of punishments depending on current and past convictions, if applicable.
- A first crime has a minimum sentence of 7 years in prison, a presumptive sentence of 10.5 years, and a maximum sentence of 21 years in jail.
- If a person has one allegeable prior serious felony conviction, the maximum sentence is 14 years in prison, with a minimum sentence of 14 years, a presumption sentence of 15.75 years, and a maximum sentence of 28 years in prison.
- If the individual has two allegeable prior serious felony offenses, the obligatory minimum sentence is 21 years in prison, the presumptive sentence is 28 years, and the maximum sentence is 35 years in prison.
Second-Degree MurderSecond-degree murder is less severe than first-degree murder, but it still carries substantial criminal consequences. If you are found guilty of second-degree murder, you will face the following consequences.
- Minimum 10 years in prison
- Presumptive prison sentence of 16 years
- Maximum of 22 years in prison
First-Degree MurderFirst-degree murder is the most serious type of murder in the state, and it is a crime classified as a Class 1 felony. The felony murder rule is another manner in which a person might be prosecuted with first-degree murder. A person can be charged with first-degree murder if he or she kills another person as a result of committing a specific felony stated in the legislation. The following are examples of these offenses.
- Child molestation
- Sexual assault
- Fleeing from law enforcement
- Life in prison with no possibility for release. This is until the defendant serves 25 years of day-for-day prison time.
- Life in prison without the possibility of parole.
- The death penalty